If you have celiac disease or are otherwise just sensitive to gluten, you’ll have to avoid all foods containing gluten, a type of protein. Gluten comes from wheat, rye and barley, although it can also be hidden in foods that come into contact with these grains. Cream of tartar itself is indeed gluten-free; however, the food it’s in may not be gluten-free.
Cream of tartar is a type of potassium salt of tartaric acid and contains no grains that have gluten. It’s often a staple ingredient in baked goods like meringue and angel food cake, since it’s used to keep egg whites stable. Read the nutrition facts label and watch out for flour, malt, wheat starch, bulgur or wheat germ. These are just a few ingredients in some processed foods that probably contain gluten, as well as cream of tartar. Manufacturers are required to list allergens on the label though, so even if a gluten-containing ingredient isn’t obvious, you should see a term such as “gluten-free,” “free of gluten,” “no gluten” or “without gluten” printed right on the label.
Psyllium Husk & Gluten
How to Make Liquid Sugar Concentrate
How to Change the Date on a Luminox 3080
How to Identify a Real Movado Watch
How to Shorten a Nixon Watchband
How to Make a Lip Mask for Extremely ...
How to Fix Curdled Whipped Cream
How to Take Out Scratches From Silver ...
How to Make Sweet Brown Rice
How to Locate a Missing Person in ...
How to Tell a Genuine Hermes Wallet
How to Know if a Vintage Chanel Purse ...
The Best Facial Moisturizer That Won't ...
I Need a Substitute for Baking Soda in ...
How to Spot a Fake Rolex Watch
How to Get a Marriage Certificate Online
How to Freeze Tzatziki
What Do the Numbers Mean on Perfume ...
How to Remove Sweat & Deodorant Stains ...
How to Change the Battery in a Luminox ...
Melodie Anne Coffman specializes in overall wellness, with particular interests in women's health and personal defense. She holds a master's degree in food science and human nutrition and is a certified instructor through the NRA. Coffman is pursuing her personal trainer certification in 2015.