Psyllium husk comes from the small seeds of the Plantago ovata plant. Because it is classified as a seed, not a grain, it does not have any gluten in its natural state. Some psyllium husk supplements, however, may contain small amounts of gluten, depending on other ingredients added during the manufacturing process.
Plain psyllium husk and ground psyllium husk powder are gluten-free, meaning they have less than 20 parts per million of gluten, as defined by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Some supplement manufacturers add wheat flour to psyllium husk supplements, though. It’s used as a binding agent in chewable wafers and pills. Always read the label carefully if you’re sensitive to gluten, no matter which form of psyllium husk you take. The label should state “free of gluten,” “no gluten,” “gluten free” or “without gluten.”
Gluten- and Wheat-Free Fiber Supplements
How to Make Sweet Brown Rice
How to Flavor White Cake Mix With ...
Can I Make Doughnuts From Frozen Yeast ...
What Kind of Oil Do You Use in Brownie ...
Calories in Tofu Cream Cheese
How to Legally Change Your Name When ...
How to Make a Lip Mask for Extremely ...
How to Julienne Jicama
How to Make Pumpernickel Flour
How to Make Toasted Bread Sticks With ...
How Long Does Banana Bread Stay Fresh?
Can I Freeze Wheat Berries?
How to Substitute Dried for Fresh Dill ...
How to Get a Marriage Certificate Online
Substitute for Gram or Besan Flour
Can You Make Dumplings With Corn Starch?
How to Replace Flour With Oat Flour
Calories in a Bowl of Raisin Bran Cereal
Does Cake Flour Contain Baking Soda & ...
Melodie Anne Coffman specializes in overall wellness, with particular interests in women's health and personal defense. She holds a master's degree in food science and human nutrition and is a certified instructor through the NRA. Coffman is pursuing her personal trainer certification in 2015.