Gluten-Free Weight-Gain Supplements

by Jill Corleone, RDN, LD

Use the food label when looking for gluten-free weight-gain supplements.

Plush Studios/Blend Images/Getty Images

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley and rye, and people with celiac disease or gluten intolerance need to eliminate it from their diet to prevent illness. While some weight-gain supplements may contain gluten, you should be able to find a number of gluten-free options to meet your needs.

Check the Food Label

When looking for gluten-free weight-gain supplements, the food label is a good place to start. In 2014, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration issued a ruling allowing food manufacturers to clearly label their food items as gluten-free if they are inherently free of any gluten-containing ingredient.

However, the gluten-free labeling is voluntary, so even if a weight-gain supplement is not labeled as gluten-free, it might still fit into a gluten-free diet. Use the ingredients list to figure it out. Avoid any supplements that contain the words wheat, barley, rye, starch, flour, malt or triticale.

Photo Credits

  • Plush Studios/Blend Images/Getty Images

About the Author

Jill Corleone is a registered dietitian and health coach who has been writing and lecturing on diet and health for more than 15 years. Her work has been featured on the Huffington Post, Diabetes Self-Management and in the book "Noninvasive Mechanical Ventilation," edited by John R. Bach, M.D. Corleone holds a Bachelor of Science in nutrition.