Pickles can add a satisfying crunch to your garden salad or provide a burst of garlic and vinegar with a sandwich. If you're sensitive to gluten, however, you shouldn't automatically add a pickle or two to your meal without ensuring that this cucumber-based food doesn't contain gluten. Unlike obvious sources of gluten, such as pasta and bread, it's occasionally possible for pickles to surprise you by containing a gluten ingredient.
Don't Find Yourself in a Pickle
"Gluten-Free Living" magazine reports that in general, commercial pickles are free of gluten. The magazine notes that pickle manufacturers such as Heinz and Vlasic label their pickles as gluten-free. Heinz, for example, advises that its pickles and relishes are gluten-free. If the pickles you wish to eat contain malt vinegar, however, the pickles contain gluten, notes Huffpost Healthy Living. Barley is one of the ingredients in malt vinegar, and barley contains gluten.
Canned Food That Is Gluten Free
Is Nutritional Yeast Gluten Free?
How to Oven Bake Pickles
How to Make Tomato Bruschetta
Traditional Chinese Housewarming Gifts
A Gluten-Free Diet and Torula Yeast
How to Make Easy 5 Ingredient Fresh ...
Can I Make Doughnuts From Frozen Yeast ...
How to Egg Wash a Loaf of Challah Bread
How to Cook Arroz Chaufa
How to Freeze Brioche
Using Vinegar in Baking
Foods With Calcium Phosphate
Are Juniper Berries the Same As Capers?
How to Substitute Dried for Fresh Dill ...
Will Adding Cocoa Powder to a Cake Dry ...
How Long Does Banana Bread Stay Fresh?
How to Make a Vegemite Sandwich
Low Sodium Foods That Taste Good
Calories in a Pint of Egg Drop Soup
Toronto-based journalist William McCoy has been writing since 1997, specializing in topics such as sports, nutrition and health. He serves as the Studio's sports and recreation section expert. McCoy is a journalism graduate of Ryerson University.