If you have celiac disease, a gluten-free diet prevents damage to your small intestines. It can be tricky to figure out all of the hidden sources of gluten you need to avoid, however. Gluten is found in any foods or ingredients made with rye, wheat or barley. torula yeast isn't made from these grains, so it is safe on this diet.
Torula and Gluten
Torula yeast is made during the processing of either fruits or wood products, so it doesn't contain any gluten. It is used as a food additive to give foods a savory, smoky or meaty taste without adding meat or using monosodium glutamate, or MSG, which some people try to avoid in their food due to potential adverse reactions. Torula yeast is found in processed foods such as soups, snack foods, pasta and rice mixes, salad dressings, processes meats, gravies and sauces. If you prefer not to consume torula yeast, check labels of processed foods, including gluten-free items. It may be listed by name on the ingredients label, but it can also fall under "natural flavorings," according to Center for Science in the Public Interest.
Psyllium Husk & Gluten
Muslim Food & Gifts
Gluten- and Wheat-Free Fiber Supplements
Fiber Sure by Metamucil Ingredients
Is Nutritional Yeast Gluten Free?
Uses of Saltpeter in Food
What Is the Nutritional Value of Wheat?
How to Make Breading Stick to Meat ...
Can You Make Sweet and Sour Without ...
Foods With Calcium Phosphate
Can Proactiv Solution Cause Itchy Skin?
What Is Accent Seasoning?
Calories in a Subway Cheese Pizza
Bugs That Get Into Pantry & Food
How to Make Teriyaki Sauce
List of Foods That Are Commonly ...
Bojangles Patio Red Cherry Soda ...
Nutrition Facts for Tootsie Rolls
How to Make a Lip Mask for Extremely ...
Based in Massachusetts, Jessica Bruso has been writing since 2008. She holds a master of science degree in food policy and applied nutrition and a bachelor of arts degree in international relations, both from Tufts University.