When you're trying to adhere to a gluten-free lifestyle, it can be difficult to know what products do not contain gluten. If you enjoy consuming energy drinks, there are several different ones you can choose from. Always consult your physician before consuming high amounts of caffeine or herbal supplements sometimes found in energy drinks.
What Is Gluten?
Gluten is a protein that can cause an autoimmune reaction in those who suffer from celiac disease or gluten intolerance. According to the National Institute of Health's Medline Plus, this protein can be found in the grains barley, rye and wheat. Some argue that oats contain trace amounts of gluten, while others claim this is due to the manufacturing process involving cross contamination with wheat.
Rockstar Energy Drink
According to the manufacturer, Rockstar energy drinks are gluten-free. This drink is also available in sugar-free and 10 percent juice varieties, and is considered a vegan-friendly beverage. Rockstar also contains high amounts of B vitamins, L-carnitine, ginkgo biloba, milk thistle and about 80 mg of caffeine per can.
Red Bull is a popular energy drink. The manufacturer advertises its products to be gluten-free. Red Bull also contains no animal products or byproducts. According to the company, one can of Red Bull energy drink contains the same amount of caffeine as a cup of coffee.
HiBall Energy Drink
HiBall energy drinks come in many flavors such as cranapple, lemon-lime, orange and grapefruit, among others. This all-natural product is free of gluten, artificial sweeteners and preservatives. HiBall energy drinks also contain 80 mg of caffeine, along with ginseng, guarana and B vitamins.
Bojangles Patio Red Cherry Soda ...
Fat-Free and Sugar-Free Jell-O Pudding ...
How to Make Cherry Bomb Shots
Chocolate Martini: How Many Calories?
Gluten- and Wheat-Free Fiber Supplements
How Much Is a Single Serving Size of a ...
Cappuccino Nutrition Information
Swiss Cheese Nutrition
What Is the Nutritional Value of Wheat?
The Difference Between Fruit Juice & ...
The Difference Between Brown and White ...
How to Respond When a Husband Drinks ...
Vegetarian Sources of Astaxanthin
How Many Calories Are in a Slice of ...
Rolo Nutrition Information
The Calories of Pacifico Beer
Make It a Manhattan: Classic Manhattan ...
Types of Monster Energy Drinks
How to Freeze Tzatziki
Calories in One Slice Provolone Cheese
Jacqui Donnelly specializes in health, wellness and nutrition. As a freelance writer, her work has appeared in numerous publications and websites. Donnelly holds a Bachelor of Science in nutrition-dietetics from Montclair State University.
George Doyle/Stockbyte/Getty Images