Vegetable ghee serves as a substitute for traditional ghee, an important ingredient in many Indian dishes. This product is sometimes known as vanaspati or clarified butter.
Traditional ghee is a creamy spread produced by boiling butter until the liquids and solids have separated. The liquid is then separated from the solid and packaged as ghee.
Vegetable ghee is a vegetarian alternative to this product. It is made up almost entirely of hardened vegetable oil and is free from any milk products.
It is ideal for various forms of cooking, such as baking, sautéing and deep frying. It is also used as a spread on bread or vegetables.
Texture and Appearance
Both traditional ghee and vegetable ghee have a texture and appearance similar to lard. However, neither of these items contains animal fat.
Despite its resemblance to lard, vegetable ghee is cholesterol-free. It has a buttery, nutty taste that is somewhat milder than that of traditional ghee.
Calories in Moo Shu Vegetable
How to Make a White Decorator Icing
What Is Glycerine Used For?
How To Make Gluten Free Chicken Pot Pie
How to Make Teriyaki Sauce
Substitute for Peanut Satay Sauce
How to Cook With Coconut Flour for Main ...
Mom’s Classic Make-Ahead Bread Stuffing
How to Make Toasted Bread Sticks With ...
How to Keep Scalloped Potatoes From ...
Calories in Tofu Cream Cheese
What is Rapeseed Oil?
How to Add Citric Acid to Castile Soap
How to Make Sour Cream Out of Heavy ...
How to Cook Vegetables With Progresso ...
How to Substitute Cocoa Powder for ...
How to Serve Ciabatta Bread
How to Use Panko
What Can I Use in Place of Sour Cream?
How to Store Ghee
Tiffany Bennett is a recent graduate from Toccoa Falls College. While earning her degree in counseling and psychology, she discovered that she enjoys various forms of writing. She is currently living in Athens, Ga., and looking forward to beginning a graduate degree program in international affairs at the University of Georgia.