Ideas to Show My Husband I Love Him

Jupiterimages/Stockbyte/Getty Images

You may love your husband with all your heart, but don't count on him fully feeling that love unless you make a daily habit of expressing it. Identifying ways you can love on your man throughout each day will give you the tools you need to continue to cement your relationship into a strong one that will weather the inevitable storms life sends your way.

Praise and Recognition

Your husband will appreciate it when you let him know you're impressed with his ability to make a mean spinach frittata, but will be even more thrilled when you let other people know about his culinary prowess. The next time the two of you are chatting with friends, be sure to let them know how much you cherish your hubby, who is thoughtful enough to run to the store every time you have a craving for chocolate. He'll glow with the recognition that even the little things he does count.

Affective Affirmation

Give your hubby "affective affirmation," suggests psychologist Terri Orbuch, Ph.D., in a July 2012 article in "The Wall Street Journal." Cuddling, hugging and kissing and saying the words "I love you" can help build trust in your relationship and make your partner feel valued and appreciated. You needn't limit yourself to touch and words. Small affectionate actions such as bringing him a cup of coffee in bed or getting out of bed first to turn on the heater will remind him daily of how much you love him.

Give Him Your Time

Giving your husband your time is a surefire way to let him know you value your relationship. After work, put aside your tablet and give him your undivided attention while he tells you about an exciting -- or stressful -- day at work. Giving your time doesn't mean just listening, though. Consider taking his car to work one day and getting the oil changed on your lunch hour so he won't need to worry about taking care of it on the weekend, for example.

Learn His Love Language

To generate even more ideas to make your husband feel treasured, learn his love language. In his book, "The Five Love Languages," marriage and family expert Gary Chapman notes that people will respond to a loving gesture the most favorably when it matches their love language. The five love languages are acts of service, words of affirmation, quality time, physical touch and receiving gifts. Your husband may respond more to your gesture of baking his favorite cake than he would to a gift of a new gadget, depending on the "language" he speaks. Carefully note what he appreciates most, and focus your efforts in that area.