Types of Beeswax

by Joan Reinbold ; Updated September 28, 2017

Beeswax is a honey scented wax harvested from honey bee beehives. It is formed from multiple chemical compounds, and its’ melting point ranges from 144 to 147 degrees Fahrenheit. The color of beeswax is white when first formed, and yellows as it ages, due to propolis and pollen oil incorporation.

By Region

There are two main classifications of beeswax: Oriental and European. Oriental beeswax has a higher saponification time than the European types.


Filtered beeswax has had debris filtered from it. The filtering process ranges from heavy to light filtering styles. Heavily filtered beeswax involves several processes, leaving it little or no honey scent, and less color. Lightly filtered beeswax has had debris removed, and retains its’ honey scent and yellow color.


Blended beeswax involves mixing other waxes (such as paraffin) with beeswax to make a longer burning wax.


Bleached beeswax has been treated with such processes as sun-bleaching, a specific type of filtering or with chemical treatments, such as hydrogen peroxide. Bleached beeswax is also known as ivory beeswax or white beeswax, and is almost odorless. It is often used in cosmetics, and in colored beeswax candles.


Raw beeswax contains debris due to the absence of the refining treatment.

Our Everyday Video

Brought to you by LEAFtv
Brought to you by LEAFtv

About the Author

Joan Reinbold is a writer, author of six books, blogs and makes videos. She has been a tutor for students, library assistant, certified dental assistant and business owner. She has lived (and gardened) on three continents, learning home renovation in the process. She received her Bachelor of Arts in 2006.