The Daniel fast is a religious spin on cleansing diets, and omits meat, dairy, sweets and bread. The idea is to eat the way the biblical Daniel did when after he was held captive in Babylon, and Christians who fast often follow this plan to attempt to grow closer to God.
The Soy-Milk Question
The Daniel fast includes plant-based foods such as fruits, vegetables, whole grains and beans, and is sometimes called a more restrictive vegan diet. Soy does fall into the bean category; however, the diet does not include any beverages except water, according to Susan Gregory, author of "The Daniel Fast Cookbook." Therefore, drinking soy milk is not allowed. Plant-based milks and juices are allowed in food recipes, however, so feel free to pour soy milk on your cereal.
How to Know What to Eat During Lent
How to Eat During Lent, Ash Wednesday, ...
The Collin Dong Diet
Types of Listening Skills
How to Cook Pan Fried Deer Tenderloin
How Do I Set Mickey Digital Sport ...
Fiber in Soybeans
How to Prepare Water Kefir to Drink
The Samurai Diet
How Many Calories in a Taco Bell Bean ...
How Long to Cook Steak at 150 Degrees ...
The Word of Wisdom Diet
How to Stop Female Facial Hair
How to Cook Muskrat
How Fast Does Cooked Spaghetti Squash ...
What a Minister Says at a Wedding
Can You Make Dumplings With Corn Starch?
List of Vegetables for the Paleo Diet
Low-Fiber Foods for a Colonoscopy
How to Make Breading Stick to Meat ...
Nina K. is a Los Angeles-based journalist who has been published by USAToday.com, Fitday.com, Healthy Living Magazine, Organic Authority and numerous other print and web publications. She has a philosophy degree from the University of Colorado and a journalism certificate from UCLA.