our everyday life

How to Obtain a Marriage License in Las Vegas

by Ginger Kelly

The exciting city of Las Vegas is located in Clark County, Nevada. Many people get married in Las Vegas each year, in one of the many Las Vegas wedding chapels that line the Vegas strip. You are required to have a marriage license from Clark County before you can be married in a chapel ceremony. The process of obtaining a marriage license in Las Vegas is fast and relatively simple. There are no waiting periods or blood testing required. Once you have your Las Vegas marriage license, you can go to the chapel of your choosing and get married.

Verify that you meet the minimum age requirements to obtain a marriage license in Las Vegas. You will need to be at least 18 years of age, or have the written consent of your parent or guardian. You will need to be able to show a valid photo identification to prove that you are of legal age to obtain a marriage license in Las Vegas.

Fill out a marriage application form. You can obtain this form online by visiting the Clark County website (see Resources). Print out the form and bring it with you to the Marriage Bureau, or you can request a paper application in person and fill it out at the Marriage Bureau.

Go down to the Las Vegas Marriage Bureau office located at: 201 East Clark Avenue Las Vegas, Nevada 89155-1603 The Bureau is open from 8am to midnight, 7 days a week, including holidays. Bring your photo identification, application and $60.00 fee with you. You will also need to know your Social Security Number.

Take your marriage license from the clerk at the marriage bureau and verify that all of your personal information is correct and accurate. Your name will appear exactly as it does on your photo identification. If everything is correct, once your marriage license in signed, you are ready to be married in Las Vegas at a chapel of your choice.

Items you will need
  • Photo identification
  • $60 fee
  • Social Security Number

Tip

  • If you are divorced, you will need to know the date, city and state where your divorce was finalized.

Warnings

  • Nevada Law only requires the marriage of a male and a female.
  • Temporary identification (interim) will not be accepted as proof of identification.

Photo Credits