Birth certificates are important for various reasons: to get a new social security card, to apply for a passport or to enroll in school. Since Oceanside California is located in San Diego County, if you were born in Oceanside and you wish to receive a copy of your birth certificate you will have to contact the San Diego County Assessor/Recorder/County Clerk's office. This office maintains the vital records for Oceanside, including birth certificates.
How to Obtain a Birth Certificate by Mail
Navigate to the San Diego County Assessor/Recorder/County Clerk website. A link to this website is found in the Resources section of this article.
Click the "Application for Birth Record by Mail" form link. Clicking this link will take you to a webpage with links to various forms. The link for the "Birth Record by Mail" form is the first link. When you click that link the form will open in a new window.
Complete and print the "Application for Birth Certificate by Mail." You can fill in the necessary information for this form using your computer and print it out, but you cannot save it. If you choose to fill out the form using the computer, print it out when you are finished. A link to this form has been provided in the Resources section of this article.
Sign the form and have it notarized if you would like a certified copy. If you do not want or do not need a certified copy, then you do not have to have the form notarized but you still must sign it. A certified copy is only available to people who are authorized by California state law to receive one, such as the person whose birth certificate is being requested or her parents, grandparents, children, spouse, domestic partner, or attorney.
Mail the "Application for Birth Certificate by Mail" form with the appropriate fee to the San Diego County Recorder's office. The fee for a birth certificate is $17.00 per copy and must be paid with a check or money order.
How to Obtain a Birth Certificate in Person
Go to one of the office locations of the San Diego County Recorder/Clerk. A link to the office locations is provided in the Resources section of this article.
Complete the "Application for Birth/Death Record in Person" form. Copies are available at the San Diego County Recorder/Clerk's office, and a link to the form is provided in the Resources section of this article.
Sign and submit the form to the San Diego County Recorder/Clerk's office with the appropriate fee. You may sign in front of an employee of the San Diego County Recorder/Clerk's office and will not be required to have the form notarized if you would like a certified copy and are authorized to receive one. The fee for a birth certificate is $17.00 per copy and may be paid in cash or by check or money order if paid in person.
- Comstock/Comstock/Getty Images