our everyday life

Acting Summer Camps in Massachusetts for Teens

by Karen Doyle

If you have a teen who loves acting, send her to camp. Massachusetts has a variety of acting summer camps. Some camps are residential, so your teen will live there for a week or longer, and others offer day programs. Some camps offer both options.

Residential Camps

Many residential camps are at area colleges. The New York Film Academy summer camps (nyfa.edu ) has day and weekend camps at Harvard University in Cambridge. Sessions range from one to 12 weeks. These camps take a hands-on approach, and include acting, film and TV, performing arts and photography and video. Blue Tree for Girls at Smith College in Northampton (curiousjanecamp.com/blue-tree) has classes in creative writing, dance and choreography, fashion, art and theater. US Performing Arts Camps at the University of Massachusetts in Amherst (USAPerformingArts.com) has one-week camps for musical theater or acting for the camera. Belvoir Terrace in Lenox (belvoirterrace.com ) has a seven-week program and a one week mini-camp for girls in grades two through 10. Classes include acting fundamentals, Shakespeare, musical theater, directing and technical theater aspects.

Day Camps

Stage Soup in Brookline Village (stagesoup.com ) has a two-week program for ages 7 to 13. This camp is Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Campers give a performance on the final day of camp. Kreative Kids Theatre in Carver (kreativekidztheatre.com) has one-week sessions for ages 5 through 16, Monday through Friday. Kidstock Summer Theater in Winchester (kidstocktheater.com) has classes in acting, musical theater, stage directing and movie directing. Two-week sessions are held for ages 12 to 14. Academy of the Company Theater, Norwell (companytheater.com) has one-week sessions for ages 7 to 18. Students take six classes per day in acting, musical theater, music, improve, scenery, lighting and directing.

Intensive Camps

Experienced actors in their late teens might prefer a program taught by working professionals in the craft. Lyric First Stage (lyricstage.com) is an intensive five-week program for ages 14 to 20. Students take a series of workshops in acting or stage management, followed by performances of two productions at the end of the program. Berklee Musical Theater Summer Intensive at Berklee College of Music (berklee.edu/summer/musicaltheater/program-like.php) is a five-week program for ages 15 and older. Campers will take classes in acting technique, improvisation, dance and movement, voice and audition techniques, and elective workshops.

Special Camps

Two acting camps at Regis College in Weston are specifically for campers with special needs. The Brave Arts Theater Workshop (brave-arts.org) has one-week day and boarding workshops for ages 7 to 17. Boarding campers must be at least 10. The focus is on building confidence and working as a team toward the end-of-session performance. The Drama-Play Connection (dramaplayconnection.com) is a six-week day program that serves children and adolescents who have difficulty with social relationships, and might have diagnoses of attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, mild autism spectrum disorder or social anxiety.

About the Author

Karen Doyle has been a writer since 1993, covering finance, business, marketing and parenting. Her work has been published in "Kidding Around" and "A Cup of Comfort." Doyle holds a bachelor's degree in marketing from Boston College.

Photo Credits

  • Comstock/Comstock/Getty Images